Design Design Reviews | Glassdoor

Updated Mar 12, 2020

Design Design President and CEO Don Kallil
  1. Helpful (1)

    Current Employee – Anonymous Employee in Grand Rapids, MI

    Recommends

    Positive Outlook

    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Design Design full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company is growing and progressing, so there are new people coming in and a lot of great opportunities! The office is a very friendly work environment with great company culture. The leadership team truly cares about their employees and pushes to ensure that the company’s core values are being practiced throughout the office. Overall, the team here works very well together, and is passionate about the company and believes in their products!

    Cons

    With change comes new challenges that the company is facing and actively trying to work through. As the company grows, it is hard to fill new roles in a timely manner, so people feel overworked and overwhelmed with their current workloads.

    Continue reading

    Design Design2020-03-12

  2. Doesn’t Recommend

    Negative Outlook

    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Design Design

    Pros

    Used to be they treated you fairly

    Cons

    60 mile deduction per day (used to pay 1st store to last) Won’t even let you clock in, in the store parking lot even though you transport job supplies with you. Used to be able to speak to managment when a problem instore arises now it’s like playing cat and mouse.

    Continue reading

    Design Design2020-01-02

  3. Helpful (3)

    Former Employee – Production Associate 

    Doesn’t Recommend

    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Design Design full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers were great, good location, shift hours were good.

    Cons

    This is not a company you will want to retire from. New hires are hired in at more money than employees that have been there for a while. In my two years there, no raises were given.Upper management, management and human resource gossip about employees and there is no respect for an employees privacy. Many employees have two jobs, if you are a one income family do not expect to be able to live on your wages from this job alone. They will work with some employees with serious health issues, while they do not deem other employees health issues as serious enough, even with physician’s letters(even being hospitalized), thererfore your job is not secure unless you are a favorite. The owner has a motto of leading from the heart, he only does that if it benefits him or you are his family member. He really does not want to know of the day to day problems as long as you get his product shipped and make him richer, that is all that matters to him, he has no heart for his employees.

    Continue reading

    Design Design2019-09-18

  4. Former Employee – Designer 

    Doesn’t Recommend

    Negative Outlook

    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Design Design full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    – Little to no accountability so as long as you get your work done you can pretty much do whatever
    – Coworkers are generally cool
    – If you get my old desk you can open windows
    – The 3rd floor conference room door kind of has a batman mask in the woodgrain
    – Learned a lot about office politics and the type of environment that won’t work for me long term

    Cons

    – Little to no accountability so you could end up doing 2-3x more work than someone else on your team
    – You can expect to be trapped in the parking lot at 5 or pay for a meter all day
    – Your workload is dependent on people higher up than you doing their job in a timely manner which is hard for them to do because of all their meetings
    – Not uncommon for things that weren’t a priority all week to suddenly require all hands on deck to get it out by 5 on Friday
    – Honestly don’t believe the owner cares about his employees unless he’s related to them or he thinks they’ll make him a lot of money without asking for better compensation in return

    Continue reading

    Design Design2019-05-04

  5. Former Employee – Anonymous Employee 

    Doesn’t Recommend

    Positive Outlook

    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Design Design full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    – Many colleagues were wonderful
    – Lots of fun company events e.g. bowling
    – Lots of learning
    – Great location
    – Professional HR person
    – Good hours

    Cons

    – Toxic work environment (may depend somewhat on department) : CEO micromanages and does not respect employees
    – CEO’s behavior filters down through office culture
    – Poor communication
    – Gossip

    Continue reading

    Design Design2019-05-01

  6. Helpful (4)

    Current Employee – Graphic Designer in Grand Rapids, MI

    Doesn’t Recommend

    Negative Outlook

    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Design Design full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Creative Director & learned a ton

    Cons

    Very low wages and small raises

    Design Design2019-02-20

  7. Helpful (1)

    Former Employee – Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Design Design full-time

    Pros

    -Dedicated driven employees
    -Respects the work life balance

    Cons

    -Low oppurtunity to move up in the company

    Design Design2018-12-17

  8. Helpful (1)

    Current Employee – Anonymous Employee 

    Recommends

    Positive Outlook

    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Design Design full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers and dedicated employees. A handful are or will be celebrating 20+ years and many more with 10+ years. The trend driven and creative teams have rolled out great products for the 2019 season!

    Cons

    Sometimes the physical barriers still divide the departments. But the social events within the company are going strong and seem to really help!

    Continue reading

    Design Design2018-11-10

  9. Helpful (3)

    StarStarStarStarStar

    Former Employee – Anonymous Employee in Grand Rapids, MI

    I worked at Design Design full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great people to work with- great products too

    Cons

    management needs help, too many chiefs to staff ratio

    Design Design2018-03-29

  10. Helpful (7)

    Former Employee – Anonymous Employee 

    Doesn’t Recommend

    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Design Design full-time

    Pros

    Employees, discount on product, location.

    Cons

    Secretive. If your not playing the office game, then you are not part of the in group. I found it wasn’t worth being mean to some other employees to advance. That makes for a horrible culture.

    Continue reading

    Design Design2018-01-24

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 23 reviews

Source Article