National Design Awards | Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum


Design throughout history has always responded to the challenges of its time, and today the expectation of conscious consumption by consumers needs to be preceded by a more conscious creation by designers. The National Design Awards wants to recognize the role of design in shaping a more sustainable future, and support this new era of design. In 2020, Cooper Hewitt is launching the Climate Action Award and urges all designers to take on a professional responsibility to advance a more sustainable future for all.

Award Categories

Reflecting the ever-growing scope of design, the National Design Awards program now includes nine jury-selected award categories and a Director’s Award selected by the museum.

  • Design Visionary
  • Director’s Award
  • Climate Action
  • Emerging Designer
  • Architecture
  • Communication Design
  • Digital Design
  • Fashion Design
  • Landscape Architecture
  • Product Design

Learn More

Read more about the National Design Awards categories and selection process or browse a list of all past honorees.


Visit the National Design Awards Gallery, powered by Behance, to view the work of National Design Award honorees and jurors.

Celebrating 20 Years of the National Design Awards

What are the National Design Awards?

The Asterisk Trophy

The National Design Awards trophy was originally designed in a twisted asterisk form by William Drenttel and Jessica Helfand in 2000. The trophy is the physical embodiment of the National Design Awards celebration of innovation and excellence in American design. For the first decade, the trophies were produced by Saint-Gobain Advanced Ceramics, a world leader in the habitat and construction markets. In 2010, Smart Design, that year’s winner in Product Design, recreated the original trophy in a new stainless-steel composite material. In 2011, The Corning Museum of Glass worked with a team from Cooper Hewitt to design a new trophy in glass and continues to produce the trophies today.

Created as part of the Corning Museum’s GlassLab initiative, which serves to explore new design concepts and push the boundaries of innovation and creativity, the National Design Awards trophy features significant optical interest and distortion in the glass. Rather than pristine, pure glass without bubbles, the trophy’s glass striations offer a hand-hewn, raw quality that appealed to the Cooper-Hewitt team. The top of the trophy is cut at a 50° angle, which allows viewers to peer into the glass and see their reflection and also permits the trophy to be set on the cross-section of the asterisk. Each trophy is hand-polished and takes six to eight hours to complete.

2019 Special Thanks

Source Article